Eye Catching News of the Week 3/24

So here it is… Sunday Funday, March 24th, 2013. I could’ve sworn we were all just bringing in the new year. Time is DEFINITELY flying. We’ve had so many crazy events happen already. I wanted to write a post based off news headlines that caught my eye during the week. I plan on making this an on going Sunday Funday post. Gives me a reason to stay on top of all kinds of news, as well as to post and put you guys up on to it.( That’s if you didn’t already know of course ;-)) 

1. Starbucks CEO supports same-sex marriage:

(HOWARD SCHULTZ: STARBUCKS CEO)

When I first saw this headline I immediately felt a jolt of Joy. I won’t lie to you, I thought that with Starbucks being such a large organization, they would probably be extremely radical, and defiantly not for same-sex marriage. Show’s you how much I knew about my favorite coffee company. Boy oh boy was I wrong, and im glad I was. 

Looks like CEO Howard Schultz let one of his investors know who’s REALLY boss.

On Wednesday, at the annual Starbucks’ shareholder meeting, an investor reportedly argued that it wouldn’t be in the best interest for Starbucks to support gay marriage. Schultz had his on view on the matter which he stated: If you feel, respectfully, that you can get a higher return than the 38 percent you got last year, it’s a free country. You can sell your shares of Starbucks and buy shares in another company. Thank you very much,” Schultz said, to applause from the audience.”  

YOU TELL EM’ MISTER HOWARD! 

Click here for video of the speech. As you’ll be able to hear, looks like the crowd agrees with him.

Thank you Howard Schultz and the entire Starbucks organization for being “deeply dedicated to embracing diversity.” 

*Quick fun fact:* Starbucks was one of the companies that endorsed a Washington State bill to legalize gay marriage. That bill became a Law. 



2. Miley Cyrus gets to “Twerkin”:

Link to Yahoo’s OMG article.

Click to follow Miley on twitter.


So i’m pretty sure most of you have seen this video already. I’ve seen it about a million & 1 times. Let’s just say I’ve ALWAYS loved Miley, and I definitely felt from the get go that she wasn’t gonna be Disney’s perfect little cutout. If anything she set the trend for the other Disney girls going bad. I love the new her. Anything that makes someone feel completely comfortable in the skin their in gets me on bored. 

If you haven’t seen it already check it out.

I think I love the video even more because of her witty response to why she did it. “I had a photo shoot earlier that day and so I didn’t really want to get dressed, so I wore the unicorn onesie and my friend was like, ‘Everyone is gone, we have the backdrop and the lighting.’ So I started dancing and said, ‘Here’s my phone will you record it real quick.” …  “I haven’t really seen one bad comment about the twerk video,” Cyrus laughed. “This is the first thing — I’m like, ‘I can’t sing, I can’t act, I’m dumb, I’m a hillbilly, but I can twerk so whatever.‘    #TeamMiley #MCTwerkTeam

 

3: What’s up with Amanda Bynes?

So she’s definitely NOT the same girl from the ‘Amanda Show”. Don’t get me wrong, I know people grow up… but??

Ok so… i’ve been checkin out Amanda for a little while now, pretty much since her DUI incidents. If you’re not up to date on her, she’s recently gone thru some type of makeover. I actually love the way she looks now. She has both cheeks pierced & has some serious blonde extensions in. The best way to describe her now is “Urban”. Who’d ever thought I’d use the word “Urban” to describe Amanda Bynes.

I’ve heard a few things little miss sunshine has been doing have been throwing people off guard. Things such as short yet confusing tweets, alongside reportedly switching out all the light bulbs in her old NY apartment to Red lights. On top of all this…. of course they say she smokes hella weed and pretty much talks to herself in hallways.   

Anywho… she’s on my list because of her latest twitter rant exclaiming I want @drake to murder my vagina.”    Ummm. *Raises eyebrow*

Hey… I know that i’ve heard a few of my own friends say things like this, it’s just a little weird coming from her. But nontheless no shade here. Hopefully she doesn’t go down the same road Lindsay Lohan is…That’s what people seem to be insinuating.

What do you think about all this?

I THINK SHE’S PRETTY DAMN HOT 😉

IN A WEIRD, DIRTY GIRL KIND OF WAY LOL. 

Here are some recent pics. What do you think about her new look?




4: Famous actress sleeps in box randomly throughout month of April.

52 year old actress, Tilda Swinton is putting herself on display for all to see at the MOMA art museum in New York. “The Maybe” is a piece Swinton has had in the making for 7 years. She originally debuted it in 1995 at the Serpintine Gallery in London, as well as in Paris & Rome.

 

A couple of cool things about this is that 1: NO ONE, including the Museum Director knows when she will be sleeping in the box. It’s said that she will contact the museum the day of her arrival, and will then stay in the glass box from opening to close. Another cool thing about this is her brief yet self explanatory explanation:

“An integral part of ‘The Maybe’s incarnation at MoMA in 2013 is that there is no published schedule for its appearance, no artist’s statement released, no museum statement beyond this brief context, no public profile or image issued. Those who find it chance upon it for themselves, live and in real — shared — time: now we see it, now we don’t.”

PRETTY SWEET IF YOU ASK ME!                                                             

Last but definitely not least…

5:BEYONCE FOR H&M!?  

So, I had to finish off this post with none other than Mrs. King Bey herself. Just when you thought she dominated everything already, she hits us with this! Now, I will tell you I was super stoked about Rihanna for River Island and was pretty let down by what she put out, I don’t see that happening here. 

This is the first ad for Beyonce’s H&M summer collection coming out in May. The collection is said to include embellished bikinis, sundresses, and I sure some really HOT heels. Their thing is: “All women can be all things: strong, vulnerable, sensual, maternal, fun, flirtatious.                       

I’m too stoked! Bring it on!! 

I surely hope everyone enjoyed this post, if so.. you can expect another installment next Sunday… Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

