Asher Roth Thinks Eminem’s Diss Was ‘Pretty Amazing’

befunky_artwork1

Remember the ‘As I Em’ track  from Asher Roth’s debut album ‘Asleep In The Bread Aisle’? Well years later Asher get’s the chance to set the record straight about the comparisons made between him and Eminem.

On Eminem’s most recent album ‘The Marshall Mathers LP 2’, he takes a shot at Asher on the song ‘Asshole’ in response to his ‘As I Em’ track:

“Quit actin’ salty, I was countin’ on you to count me out/Ask Asher Roth when he round-a-bout dissed me to shout me out/Thought I was history/But goddamn honkey, that compliment’s like backhanding a donkey,”

(allhiphop.files.wordpress.com)

In a interview with Hot 97’s Juan Epstein, Roth revealed that he didnt take the diss personally, in fact he was just surprised by the mention. He continued on explaining further why he made the ‘As I Em’ track, and all the comparisons between him and Em.

“Man, it was just like when things were coming out everybody was like [all] ‘Em, Asher, Em, Asher, Em, Asher.’ And so, for me I just wanted to like talk about how I was my own person,” he said. “You know what I mean? And that’s really all it was. And talking about when I first been introduced to Em’s music when I was young in seventh grade. And just kinda like talking about that relationship with being inspired by an emcee and listening to that music and having it be influential…I think Em’s just being Em.”

Leave a Reply

